Skip to main content

State Plans and Amendments

State plans are formal, written agreements between a state and the federal government regarding the administration of a federally funded program. A state plan describes the nature and scope of the program and is the state’s agreement that it will conform to the requirements of the fund. State plans are required in order for the state to qualify for and receive the identified federal funding.

Additionally, State Plans can:

  • Provide assurances that a state will abide by federal rules in order to claim federal funding;
  • Indicate which groups, services, or programs the state has chosen to cover or implement within the funding; and
  • Describe the state-specific standards to determine eligibility, methodologies, and processes to administer the program.

Plan changes are submitted by the state to the applicable U.S. federal departments as amendments. These amendments are then reviewed in order to determine whether the changes meet federal requirements and policies.

Bipartisan Infrastructure Legislation (BIL)

Child & Family Services

Family First Prevention Services - Title IV-E Prevention Services

  • Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) is a Federal Legislation which was enacted in February 2018. This Legislation allows states to use Federal Title IV-E funding in new ways. The goal is to provide services, to keep children safely in their homes, and to prevent the need for removal. FFPSA creates a spotlight on maintaining children in the home with their family, emphasizes the use of evidence based programs, and limits the use of Federal funding when placing children out of the home.

    Michigan's utilization of FFPSA and the Title IV-E Prevention funding is a collaboration of work between several departments to initiate the expansion of services throughout the state. These services are referenced as FFPSA Title IV-E Prevention Services in policy and protocol.

    To be eligible for FFPSA Title IV-E Prevention Services a child of a family must meet at least one candidacy definition. A Private Agency Partner or MDHHS caseworker must document the candidacy information in the electronic case record.

    Prevention Services (

Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LiHEAP)

  • The Low Income Home Energy Assistance Act of 1981 (title XXVI of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981), as amended, authorizes grants to states to assist low-income households, particularly those with the lowest incomes, that pay a high proportion of household income for home energy, primarily in meeting their immediate home energy needs. This document is based on anticipated federal funding for Michigan. However, all State Plan components, funding percentages, and benefit levels indicated within this document are subject to change.

    The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS), as the designated lead agency responsible for the administration of these funds, has, in cooperation with other agencies, prepared this State Plan. The plan calls for the utilization of services from the Department of Human Services and the Department of Treasury. The components of Michigan's energy assistance effort and the responsible agency for each are as follows:

    • Home Heating Credit: Department of Treasury
    • Crisis Intervention: MDHHS
    • Weatherization: MDHHS

    The above multi-component structure is similar to previous Michigan energy program designs which have worked well in this state. Basic maintenance benefits are issued through the Home Heating Credit. Crisis intervention is provided through State Emergency Relief (SER) energy services. Weatherization services round out Michigan's strategy to meet the energy assistance needs of the state's low income population.

    Through this comprehensive program design, Michigan will serve the varied needs of the state's low income population in an equitable manner. This structure allows households to receive the types of energy assistance which best meet their needs, while utilizing delivery mechanisms that have proven effective in past energy programs.

Low Income Household Water Assistance Program (LiHWAP)

Medicaid Program

Personal Responsibility Education Program

State Sexual Risk Avoidance Education

Title IV-E Foster Care Programs

  • The Federal Foster Care Program helps to provide safe and stable out-of-home care for children until the children are safely returned home, placed permanently with adoptive families or placed in other planned arrangements for permanency. The program is authorized by title IV-E of the Social Security Act, as amended, and implemented under the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) at 45 CFR parts 1355, 1356, and 1357. It is an annually appropriated program with specific eligibility requirements and fixed allowable uses of funds. Funding is awarded by formula as an open-ended entitlement grant and is contingent upon an approved title IV-E plan to administer or supervise the administration of the program.

    Title IV-E Foster Care Eligibility Reviews

    The regulatory reviews of the foster care program focus on whether a child meets title IV-E eligibility requirements for foster care maintenance payments. Just as in the child and family services reviews, the review team comprises Federal and State representatives who examine cases for Federal eligibility requirements, such as the following:

    • A court order confirming the need to remove the child from the home
    • A court order confirming the State's reasonable efforts to preserve the family, when it is safe to do so, and to finalize a permanency plan
    • A valid agreement for the child voluntarily placed in foster care and a court order authorizing continued placement
    • Completed criminal background checks on prospective foster and adoptive parents
    • Compliance with safety requirements for child-care institutions
    • Licensed foster care providers
    • Needs-based test to confirm the child's eligibility
    • State responsibility for placement and care of the child

    A payment disallowance is taken for all cases that fail to meet Federal eligibility requirements. If a State fails in more than a specific percentage of cases, it is considered not in substantial compliance with the Federal foster care program requirements. States that do not achieve substantial compliance will develop Program Improvement Plans; then a secondary review is conducted. After the secondary review, if the State is not in substantial compliance then, a larger disallowance is assessed on the basis of the State's total foster care population during the period under review.

    Title IV-E Foster Care Program (

Other Resources