Partners and Collaborators

 Home    About    Initiatives    Antibiotic Use    Infection Prevention    Reports    Collaborators    Resources    Contact


State of Michigan SHARP-MPRO-MHA-HAI Crosswalk (posted 3/12/2012)

HAI Advisory Group

The MDHHS, SHARP Unit has convened a multi-disciplinary Advisory Group (referred to as the Michigan HAI Prevention Advisory Group) to establish statewide HAI prevention leadership. A list of HAI Prevention Advisory Group partner organizations and their Advisory Group representatives are provided below. 

 Michigan HAI Preveniton Advisory Group Partner Organizations:

Great Lakes Chapter of the Association for Professionals in Infection Control & Epidemiology (APIC- Great Lakes)

An official local chapter of its international association, its mission is to improve health and patient safety by reducing the risks of infection and other adverse outcomes. Its members have primary responsibility for infection prevention and control and hospital epidemiology in the healthcare setting. 

Michigan Antibiotic Resistance Reduction (MARR) Coalition 

A Michigan-based initiative that is dedicated to preserving our antibiotic lifeline -- the ability to maintain the use of current antibiotics to treat bacterial infections. MARR brings together experts in the field for the purpose of developing educational materials for the professional community and general population. 

Michigan Association for Local Public Health (MALPH) 

Unique in the nation, the Michigan Association for Local Public Health was founded in 1985 as a private, non-profit, 501-C3 state association. The Association is organized to represent Michigan's 45 city, county, and district health departments before the state and federal legislative and executive branches of government.

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Bureau of Laboratories (BOL) 

Dedicated to continuing leadership in providing quality laboratory science for healthier people the Bureau of Laboratories utilizes advanced technology and innovative leadership to provide comprehensive public health services in a dynamic global community. 

Michigan Health & Hospital Association (MHA) Keystone Center for Patient Safety and Quality 

This Center was created in 2003 and brings together hospitals, state and national patient safety experts, and evidence-based best practices to improve patient safety and reduce healthcare costs by improving the quality of care delivered at the bedside. 

Michigan Society for Infection Prevention & Control (MSIPC) 

MSIPCs purpose is to promote healthy communities through epidemiology. As such MSIPC strives to promote, establish, and enhance the highest quality standards to reduce the potential for, and the risk of, infectious and non-infectious outcomes. 

Michigan State Medical Society (MSMS) 

The mission of the Michigan State Medical Society is to promote a health care environment that supports physicians in caring for and enhancing the health of Michigan citizens through science, quality, and ethics in the practice of medicine.


Michigan's Quality Improvement Organization. MPRO is working with providers across all settings to implement quality improvement and patient safety initiatives. 

South Central Association for Clinical Microbiology (SCACM) 

The South Central Association for Clinical Microbiology (SCACM) was formed to fill the need to produce better informed microbiologists.  The goals of the association include: promoting scientific knowledge of Clinical Microbiology through communication, improving education, encouraging scientific investigation, and gaining higher recognition in the field of Clinical Microbiology. 

 Michigan HAI Preveniton Advisory Group Members: Top

Carrie Anglewicz, MDHHS BOL

Elaine Bailey, MARR

Nandhu Balakrishnan, MDHHS BOL

Jennifer Beggs, MDHHS SHARP 

Brenda Brennan, MDHHS SHARP 

Joseph Coyle, MDHHS HAI/BA/TB/VH Section

Chardé Fisher, MDHHS SHARP

Anne Haddad, MDHHS SHARP

Brian Hartl, LHD - Kent County

Heather Hosey, LARA

Kelly Jones, MDHHS BOL

Keith Kaye, UCARDES

Joyce Lai, MDHHS Regional Epi

Dianne McCagg, MPRO

Sara McNamara, MDHHS SHARP


Noreen Mollon, Michigan Medicine

(Open), MSIPC

Nicole Nomides, APIC-GL

Russell Olmsted, MSIPC, APIC - GL
Kenneth Onye, MDHHS DEPR

Kelsey Ostergren, MHA

Elli (Ray) Stier, MDHHS SHARP
Barbara Robinson-Dunn, SCACM, MIDS
Ruth Anne Rye, Long Term Care Representative
Lisa Sturm, Hospital IP Liaison
Cathy Sunlin, Long Term Care Representative, HCAM
Amanda Valyko, MSIPC,APIC-GL

Phyllis Voreis, Accrediting, Regulatory

Laraine Washer, MSMS, MIDS

Mark Zervos, HFHS, UCARDES