Granholm Awards $9 Million In Grants To Support Anti-Drug Efforts

Contact: T.J. Bucholz (517) 241-2112

October 10, 2007

Governor Jennifer M. Granholm has awarded more than $9 million in grants for criminal justice initiatives in Michigan with funding from the federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (Byrne JAG) Program. State and local governmental entities will receive this competitive funding for a one-year period beginning October 1, 2007.

"These grants help to ensure that communities across Michigan continue to run programs that combat drug abuse and violence," said Donald Allen, Director of the Office of Drug Control Policy. "With these competitive grants, many agencies are able to increase their drug interdiction efforts, treat addiction, run drug treatment courts, counsel juveniles, and build stronger communities."

Grants for this program focus on areas such as:

- Community Policing

- Juvenile Intervention Strategies

- Family and Domestic Violence Strategies

- Local Correctional Resources

- Multijurisdictional Drug Task Forces

- Drug Treatment Courts

The Byrne JAG Program allows states and local governments to support a broad range of activities to prevent and control crime and to improve the criminal justice system. In Michigan, the program is administered by the Office of Drug Control Policy, located within the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH).

The State Court Administrative Office received $1.8 million of Byrne JAG funds for various priority population drug courts throughout the state. Priority population drug courts serve those offenders who are high risk and/or likely to be prison bound based upon their sentencing guidelines score and local sentencing practices.

Please click on a region below to view the recipients.

Greater Tri-Cities Region (Clare, Gladwin, Isabella, Midland, Bay, Gratiot, Genesee, Lapeer, Sanilac, Huron, Tuscola & Saginaw Counties)

Mid Michigan Region (Clinton, Shiawassee, Ingham, Jackson & Eaton Counties)

Northern Michigan Region (Emmet, Cheboygan, Otsego, Alcona, Arenac, Mason, Oceana, Manistee, Kalkaska, Oscoda, Iosco, Wexford, Presque Isle, Montmorency, Charlevoix, Alpena, Antrim, Grand Traverse, Ogemaw, Lake, Osceola, Benzie, Crawford, Missaukee, Leelanau & Roscommon Counties)

Southeast Michigan Region (Hillsdale, Lenawee, Monroe, Wayne, Washtenaw, Livingston, Oakland, Macomb & St. Clair Counties) 

Southwest Michigan Region (Berrien, Cass, St. Joseph, Branch, Calhoun, Van Buren, Allegan, Barry, Kalamazoo Counties)

Upper Peninsula Region

West Michigan Region (Mecosta, Muskegon, Ottawa, Kent, Newaygo, Montcalm & Ionia Counties)