The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Emergency Order Requiring Testing of Agricultural and Food Processing Employees Remains in Effect
August 17, 2020
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 17, 2020
Contact: Lynn Sutfin, 517-241-2112
LANSING, MICH. Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Director Robert Gordon applauded a recent decision by the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Michigan regarding a lawsuit challenging the department's order requiring testing to protect farm and food processing employees from COVID-19. The court denied a temporary restraining order regarding the department’s Emergency Order.
“MDHHS appreciates the judge’s ruling,” said Gordon. “The department’s goal is to save lives during a pandemic that has killed more than 6,300 people in Michigan. At a time when farms, food processing plants and migrant worker camps face 21 outbreaks, the best way to save lives is to support and test these hard-working employees.”
The order, which was announced on Aug. 3, remains in effect. It requires migrant housing camp operators
to provide COVID-19 testing as follows:
- One-time baseline testing of all residents ages 18 and over.
- Testing of all new residents with 48 hours of arrival, with separate housing for newly arriving residents for 14 days and a second test 10 – 14 days after arrival.
- Testing of any resident with symptoms or exposure.
Employers of migrant or seasonal workers, meat, poultry and egg processing facilities and greenhouses with over 20 employees on-site at a time to provide COVID-19 testing as follows:
- One-time baseline testing of all workers.
- Testing of all new workers prior to any in-person work.
- Testing of any worker with symptoms or exposure.
The deadline for businesses to comply is Aug. 24. Those seeking assistance with compliance can email MDHHS-Migrant-Affairs@michigan.gov. Additional information, including a Frequently Asked Question document, is available on the COVID-19 website.
Failure to comply with this order may result in the issuance of a civil monetary penalty under the authority of MCL 333.2262.